## GOVERNMENT

ordinance within one year. The Commissioner proposes most legislation but private members bills are allowed except for money matters which are the prerogative of the Commissioner. Besides draft legislation, the Council gives considerable time to policy papers in which the Commissioner asks for advice or seeks authority to take a particular course of action.

The Minister of Justice is the Attorney General of the Northwest Territories under the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for the criminal administration of justice but not for civil matters, or the constitution or organization of the courts. Law enforcement is provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

**Continuing federal responsibility**. The Government Organization Act, 1966 charges the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development with responsibility for the development of the North and for the general co-ordination of federal activities in the area. Other federal government agencies, such as the Northern Health Service of the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, are responsible for health and police services with the territorial government sharing their costs. The Ministry of Transport operates mainline airports throughout the whole of the North; the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation provides special shortwave northern broadcasts and maintains a growing number of local stations in the Territories. Federal cost-shared national assistance programs, within the competence of the territorial government, are available to it on the same conditions as to the provinces.

There are about 7,000 Indians and 13,000 Eskimos in the Northwest Territories for whom the federal government has a special responsibility. As of December 1973, there were no Indian reserves in the Territories but two treaties were entered into which established certain claims to land and certain other rights. As in the provinces, legislative authority with respect to Indians and lands reserved for Indians is vested exclusively in the federal government and this authority extends to Eskimos.

Extensive financial assistance is given to the territorial government under special federalterritorial agreements, usually spanning a period of five years. These agreements serve both to allocate the financial responsibility of each government for the provision of services in the Territories and to fix the amount of the federal financial payments to the territorial government for the life of the agreement. At the present stage of development, territorial revenues fall far short of meeting the expenditures of the territorial government. Under the financial agreements, all taxes on personal and corporate incomes, corporation taxes and succession duties are reserved to the federal government.

Excluding amortization of borrowings, the territorial government, during the year ended March 31, 1973, spent about \$86 million on operating accounts and about \$25 million on capital projects. Of these expenditures, approximately \$10.3 million was raised within the Territories through taxes, licences and liquor revenues and \$5.6 million was recovered from residents of the Territories for services supplied. A further \$8.9 million was recovered under federal shared-cost programs. The remainder was provided by the federal government as special operating grants and loans under the financial agreement. Of the special operating grant \$5 million can be identified as personal and corporate income taxes collected within the Territories.

Commissioner, Council and Council staff of the Northwest Territories as at December 31, 1973 Commissioner, S.M. Hodgson Deputy Commissioner, J.H. Parker Clerk of the Council, W.H. Remnant Legal Adviser, F.G. Smith Appointed members of the Council: J.H. Parker, Hugh Campbell, Louis-Edmond Hamelin, Pierre Genest

## 3.4 Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry

## 3.4.1 Federal commissions

Royal Commissions, now generally called Commissions of Inquiry, established up to May 1, 1970 under Part I of the Federal Inquiries Act are given in previous editions of the *Canada Year Book* beginning with the 1940 edition. The only commission appointed between that date and December 31, 1973 was the Airport Inquiry Commission under Chairman Hon. Justice